Insomnia and Nightmares

It was bound to happen.  Enter one little change in my life, and I’m cruising along during the day as happy as ever … go to sleep at a reasonable bedtime … then BOOM! I’m awake at 1:00am with the mind and body raring to go!

The change I’m referring to is with Undertendollars and unexpectedly having to change the name.  I received the Registration of Business Name yesterday, and am very excited!  I can’t wait to share it with you.

There is so much going on in my head right now, the brain has obviously decided there is no time for sleep!

Mind you, I wasn’t exactly sleeping peacefully.  Nightmares about people chasing me on motorbikes while I’m driving around in my car filled with suitcases that have exploded.  The contents containing kids clothes and toys have now filled the car and I’m madly putting them in the boot so people don’t see them in the car while it’s parked and are tempted to break in.  OMG … did I just share that with you!?

Speaking of nightmares.  My parents taught me the best trick ever, and it’s a great one for both adults and kids.  I’m so surprised that more people don’t know about it.  It’s as simple as turning the pillow over to the other side.  Explain to your kids … when you turn it over, the nightmares go over with it.  They are trapped underneath and won’t come back.  The new side of the pillow is nice, cool and refreshing and has lots of lovely dreams about butterflies and beaches.  A great tip for both kids and adults!

This trick did not help me stop the brain from going into overload however.  Everything seems so exaggerated at night time.  Lying there in the dark with the same thoughts going around and around.  The only insomnia remedy that works for me is to work through my thoughts and write them down.  Then go back to bed.

The other thing I try to do is prevent insomnia.  That means:

  • going to bed at a reasonable hour
  • avoiding caffeine and alcohol
  • sleeping in a cool and comfortable bed
  • avoiding the computer or technology for at least 30 minutes before sleep, and
  • no napping during the day (I only apply this last rule during the days I’m suffering from insomnia!).

There are lots of handy tips for helping with insomnia once it’s set in, but these have never worked for me.  Some include:

  • drinking a warm cup of milk or chamomile tea
  • doing a quiet activity with dim lighting for 30 minutes then going back to bed
  • deep breathing (yoga style)
  • muscle relaxing (I learnt this one in Drama class – tighten every muscle in your body, then slowly release each muscle, one at a time, starting from your toes)
  • fool around
  • gentle yoga stretches and going back to bed

Hopefully one of these tips would help for you.

At least I know my insomnia is temporary.  Sometimes it can last a couple of days, at which time I become a delirious maniac!  Hopefully that won’t happen this week!

Do you suffer from insomnia or nightmares?  What works for you?

If you liked this page, perhaps you would also like
Techniques to De-Stress

 Don’t forget to check out the Undertendollars Facebook
page and SHARE with your friends

 

2 thoughts on “Insomnia and Nightmares

  1. I totally suffer from insomnia, I have for years, the only reason it’s not so bad now is that I’m constantly tired with 3 young kids. There are no easy fixes I agree. I’ve become better at just clearing my head, and not worrying about things that might never happy – Hope you get a good sleep tonight! Emily – visiting via TUST

Leave a Reply

